Your Javascript is DISABLED. This site is best viewed with javascript enabled.
OPC Leadership Award Presented at the AGM
Article posted on: October 29th, 2013

 October 21, 2013–Frank Palen, Purchasing and Special Projects Manager for Kenpal Farm Products Inc., was announced as the winner of  the Ontario Pork Congress Industry Leadership Award on October 21 in Stratford at the annual general meeting of the Ontario Pork Congress (OPC). As Frank was unable to attend the meeting, he was presented the award in advance by OPC President, Steve Thomas.

Thomas addressed AGM attendees and spoke of Frank’s many accomplishments and the reasons why he was chosen as this year’s recipient. In addition to 25 years of volunteering with OPC, Frank also volunteers with many other agricultural and business organizations and local minor sports groups.

In a pre-recorded video presentation of the award, Thomas said, “You are a hard worker who is always there to get the job done.  Thanks to you and to your family for all of the support they give you.”

Frank’s nomination came from the OPC Executive in recognition of not only the 25 years of service to OPC but the numerous other activities and committees that Frank is involved in.  “Frank is one of the hardest working volunteers an organization could ask for.  His years of experience and knowledge make him a key part of our Exhibits Committee,” said Frank Hogervorst, representative from the OPC Executive.

Palen thanked Thomas for the award saying, “It’s great working with all of the wonderful people.  It’s fun!  Even though there is a lot of hard work, the networking and meeting people makes it fun and very worthwhile.”

The Pork Industry Leadership Award may be awarded annually to an individual who has given freely of his/her time and provided distinguished service to the Ontario Pork Industry.

A new executive was also chosen for the Ontario Pork Congress at last night’s meeting.

Frank Hogervorst, sales representative for Avonbank AG Solutions, will serve as President for the 2013-2014 year.

“I would like to thank you all for your continued support as we have made changes to the congress over the past few years. I hope that you will continue to support us as we move forward to continue improving the Congress to meet the needs of our changing industry,” said Hogervorst.  “I am committed to the success of the 2014 Ontario Pork Congress and am looking forward to being your president.

Other executive members include: 

  • Past President: Steve Thomas –Elanco Animal Health
  • 1st Vice President: Christine Schoonderwoerd -Wallenstein Feed and Supply Ltd.
  • 2nd Vice President: Joe Dwyer –Dwyer Manufacturing Ltd.
  • Treasurer: Blair Cressman, Pfizer Animal Health
  • Secretary:  Chris Crump, Ontario Swine Improvement
  • Director at Large: Kirk McLean –Stubbe’s Precast

The Ontario Pork Congress has been in existence since 1973 and has a goal of bringing together all segments of the pork industry and to showcase what it has to offer.  To learn more about Ontario Pork Congress, visit




For more information:

Lori Moser

OPC Managing Director